Star Wars Lego Advent Calendar, day 1

So my friend Laura got me the coolest early Christmas present ever. Check this bad boy out:

That’s right – not only is it a Lego advent calendar, it is a Lego Star Wars advent calendar. So, in the vein of this other guy, I’m going to blog about what comes out. I’ll try to be funny but I’m pretty sure that guy’s got me beat. I’d also like to note that I’m dumb and forgot that advent calendars start on the first of December, and that’s why this post is going to be days 1-4.

Actually, I just decided that I can probably cheat and edit the date-stamps of posts after posting them, so I’m going to split this up into four days, and pretend that I posted them on the day I was supposed to post them.

Anyway. Just looking at the front cover, there’s a ton of stuff I’m super excited about (despite the distressing absence of anyone wielding a lightsaber). Check out the Millenium Falcon, a crossbow-wielding Chewbacca, and Yoda dressed up like Santa Claus (and btw I’m totally putting Chewbacca’s head on the Santa body). I’m totally stoked. :D

I took a picture of the inside of the front cover but it is not particularly exciting. I’m posting it anyway.

I am amused by this illustration, which features a gift-wrapped Death Star. I bet everybody whose office is under that ribbon is pissed. “Aw, c’mon, I didn’t heartlessly murder that many Ewoks and climb the corporate ladder just to look at red suede all day!”

Here’s the first box:

I have no real idea what this thing is supposed to be. Evidently it is some kind of mode of transportation, but I’m not sure why it has a water spigot in the middle. It’s probably meant to be a steering handle of some sort, but it’s clearly a water spigot. Here it is assembled.

The picture on the left is assembled the way it is supposed to be assembled. I’m guessing that the three cylindery propulsiony things are supposed to be in the front, but check this out: if you turn the wedgy thing in the back around the other way, it looks like they should be in the back! Cool huh!

Yeah, I know, not really.

This will probably be a ton cooler once I have someone to ride on it.

Leave a Reply

