Enchiladas!

I am trying to write up some homework and it is not going so well. A few hours ago, I decided to take a break and go to the store and get ingredients for enchiladas, because I had some of them already. Unfortunately, for no apparent reason, I didn’t have a can opener, and I had to go next door and borrow one from my neighbors. The enchiladas still turned out delicious. I stole this recipe from my friend Jess who I think probably made it up.

Ingredients:
1 20-oz. package ground turkey
1/4 medium onion, diced
Cumin, black pepper, chili powder
1 butternut squash
1 can black beans
Tortillas
1 can enchilada sauce (I recommend red)
Mexican-blend shredded cheese

Directions:
First, halve the butternut squash, scoop the seeds out, put it cut-side down in something oven-safe and bake at 350º for 50 minutes. Once it’s done, scoop the squashy goodness out into a bowl.
Spray a nonstick skillet (you’re going to need a pretty big one) with a little cooking spray and dump the turkey and the onions in it. Add a sizeable dash each of cumin, black pepper and chili powder. Stab repeatedly with a spatula. Your job is to break the turkey up into little crumbly bits.
Once the turkey is mostly cooked and brownish, add the squash and the black beans. Stab and mix and stab until the squash and black beans are evenly distributed throughout the mixture.
If you took the tortillas out of your fridge, warm them a little in the microwave, just so they’re flexible. Scoop a good-size blob of filling out onto a tortilla, roll it up and place it in a baking dish. Repeat as necessary.
Sprinkle with cheese, dump the sauce on top, and sprinkle with more cheese. (I like cheese.) Bake at 325º for 5-7 minutes, or just until the cheese is all melty. Don’t bake too long or they’ll dry out and be gross.

Yield: I dunno. Probably 8 or so enchiladas’ worth. I halve this recipe and use half of it to make 2 enchiladas. Do the math.

You can also make this with acorn squash if you prefer, but butternut is way better.

Leave a Reply

