Ginger cucumber salad

Yesterday we had a ward barbeque at the beach.

I’m going to pause a moment and let that sink in.

Now that I’m done with my modicum of gloating, I will post the recipe for this ginger cucumber salad stuff I brought. It’s an old family favorite, with provenance extending back through I think Aunt Verda, though I would welcome a correction here if I’m remembering this wrong. It is very light and summery, and also delicious.

Ginger Cucumber Salad
– 3 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and sliced
– 1/4 C white vinegar
– 1/4 C white sugar
– 1/2 tsp fresh-grated ginger
Instructions: … mix it all together. This recipe is not rocket science, which is another reason I like it. :D

I would, however, recommend you mix the sugar and vinegar together before adding the cucumbers, because I doubt the sugar would dissolve properly if you didn’t. Also note that it doesn’t look like a lot of liquid. This is okay! I promise it’s enough. You don’t want the cucumbers to be swimming in it, and also they are going to release some of their own internal juices when they hit the vinegar. Feel free also to mess with the amount of ginger, depending on how much you like ginger.

See Cara? I can post recipes too!

Leave a Reply

