Pizza

pizzaToday I had pizza with a friend who I haven’t seen for a long time. A lot of things have happened to this friend, and we sat and talked about them over our pizza for a long time. Then my friend’s friend happened to come to the same pizza restaurant, and then this other friend ate some pizza while we all talked together. I don’t know why but I feel like the pizza was somehow integral to this experience. I don’t know that this experience is replicable if the food item under consumption is something other than pizza.

I have some other thoughts about pizza that are not related to my conversation with my friend. One of these is that whenever I eat pizza, or indeed any dish that is topped with melted cheese, my moustache smells like melted cheese until I have a chance to wash it with soap. I don’t know why this is. My moustache is not really long enough to dangle in my food (you’re welcome for that mental image), but I didn’t ever notice this effect before I had facial hair. I wonder why the smell of melted cheese clings to hair (and particularly facial hair) when it doesn’t cling to skin (e.g., on my fingers, or my lips).

I have a great recipe for sourdough pizza dough that I haven’t made for far too long. I intend to make more pizza dough in the near future, because I have a great deal of arugula in my garden that is going to need to be eaten, hopefully in creative and delicious ways. I’m thinking that arugula, pears, balsamic vinegar, and sautéed onions would be good friends on top of a pizza, with just a little olive oil and a little cheese underneath. Maybe sprinkle some feta on top, or maybe add a little prosciutto.

2 responses to “Pizza

  1. foxgopher 11 May 2013 at 8:33 am

    Is that picture of pizza the kind of pizza you had?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

